ABL Roadtrip Game #3 – Canberra Cavalry @ Melbourne Aces, 4 January 2015

My finger-painted feelings about driving though the inner-suburbs of Melbourne

My finger-painted feelings about driving though the inner-suburbs of Melbourne

I was super-excited to head out to Melbourne Ballpark and see a game.

I was not super-excited to navigate my way through the inner suburbs of Melbourne to find Ms L’s place, but surprisingly managed to pull it off.  It was after this trip that I finally gave in to Google’s intrusive need to know everything about my life in order to have a voice telling me where to go, rather than having to pull over and consult the map.

A surprisingly quick trip later found us at Melbourne Ballpark. I say surprising, because on the map it looks like quite a distance and it’s half an hour on the train from the centre of the city to the nearest train station, but I found myself turning off the highway before I’d even really settled in for the drive.

Perfectly dressed for the occasion, Ms K gracefully trots around the mini-diamond while demonstrating the complete inappropriateness of a giant sunhat, a shawl and a heavy handbag for  exercising.

Perfectly dressed for the occasion, Ms K gracefully trots around the mini-diamond while demonstrating the complete inappropriateness of a giant sunhat, a shawl and a heavy handbag for exercising.

L and I ambled around the outside of the building and I went for a trot around the mini-diamond under the watchful gaze of giant player posters.

We wandered through the corridor and found a spot in the sun on the first base side and considered our delicious picnic.  I was very much hoping to meet some of the baseball twitter and facebook people.  Luckily (for me) the crowd was reasonably small and my mobile data was working, so I did meet most people. Except for Stuart, who was apparently one row back from me, but didn’t say hi. 😦  (You’re forgiven.)

M did not successfully catch a water balloon. Or perhaps he did. It's hard to figure out what counts as 'winning' in a water balloon fight.

M did not successfully catch a water balloon. Or perhaps he did. It’s hard to figure out what counts as ‘winning’ in a water balloon fight.

The rest of the day passed in almost a blur. There was a baseball game, but there was also a lot of talking. And quite a few selfies! We happened to be there for the Aces Beach Day, so  there were many beach-themed activities happening in the innings breaks. Water fights, beachballs, etc.  I can’t think why I avoided the water fights, when M on my other side was going out of his way to get soaked 🙂

After the game, M cheerfully acquired me a game ball – by simply going up and asking. I have no idea how people do that. And then also cheerfully nudged me at a couple of players to get it signed.  Which makes a total of 5 people for whom I have ‘asked’ for signatures*. Thanks M, I definitely could not have done it without you!

First pitch of Canberra Cavalry @ Melbourne Aces.  Road trip is well and truly underway at this point.

First pitch of Canberra Cavalry @ Melbourne Aces. Road trip is well and truly underway at this point.

This ball is a passed-in foul ball, pitcher/hitter unknown. It now also has two signatures on it.

This ball is a passed-in foul ball, pitcher/hitter unknown. It now also has two signatures on it.

Infield tarp during a rain-delay remains on the bucketlist. But this was pretty awesome.  Vaguely related, I totally want to do a 'trash the dress' photoshoot one day.

Infield tarp during a rain-delay remains on the bucketlist. But this was pretty awesome. Vaguely related, I totally want to do a ‘trash the dress’ photoshoot one day.

And then I had several goes on the slippery slide in my perfectly appropriate dress and jeans combination.  I had a fine day out and the Aces won 3-2, which was lovely to see, given that they’ve had a pretty rough season, poor darlings. (Boxscore | Recap)

Threats of never being permitted to leave were duly issued and I wandered around the field chatting with people and being encouraged to actually play myself.  I think J is in charge of being the twitter baseball rookie for this year, it can be my turn next year. If I am still in Australia.

We have hats and pretty dresses. We are READY FOR BASEBALL.

We have hats and pretty dresses. We are READY FOR BASEBALL.

Special thanks to the lovely L, who stayed excited for a visit to the Aces for months after I brought up ABL roadtrip as a possibility and who also made us a fantastic lunch, to S who arranged for tickets and to M and J, who I was so excited about meeting. We had a great day out in perfect weather. Thank you Melbourne for being your reliably Melbourne-y self – I’ve never had a bad visit yet.

Twitter photo time :-)

Twitter photo time 🙂

S later also went on the slip'n'slide. We had a lovely long chat.

S later also went on the slip’n’slide. We had a lovely long chat.

* A short history of K asking for signatures:**

  1. Peter Brock (at age 11 and so crazy super-excited that I must have been completely obnoxious. I have a vague memory of making V8 noises at him, dear god.)
  2. Bob Geldof (at age 15 – a friend and I ditched school for that one and she did all the talking while I grunted at my feet occasionally and said ‘…thank you…’ as he finished signing her poster)
  3. Charles de Lint (at age 30 and for whom I managed to squeak out “thank you so much for your books, Newford hasmeantalottome”. He was very kind to me especially when it became clear that my brain had stopped and I was listening to the white-noise inside my head. And that my knees were also not working and my friend F was now in charge of me and my pile of newly signed but clearly well-loved paperbacks until such time as I rebooted.)
  4. Justin Huber (at age 38, pushed in his direction by M and vaguely waved a pen and a ball at him and said “…please…?…….thank you” while M laughed at me from the side
  5. Brad Harman (at age 38, pretty much the same story)

** I met John Doobie of the Doobie brothers once and there was a lot of vodka and redbull involved. He signed about a 15 things for us, but I didn’t believe he was who he said he was until he toured Australia 10 years later and I walked into a post while staring at a gig poster.

Standard

One thought on “ABL Roadtrip Game #3 – Canberra Cavalry @ Melbourne Aces, 4 January 2015

  1. Pingback: Hesitation on the mental basepaths | Outside the Hangar - a Melbourne Aces Fan Blog

Leave a Reply

